Advice?

Like a story? Need help writing your own? Post your thoughts and ideas here.
jessbbaby
Unfettered Newbie

RE: Advice?

Unread post by jessbbaby »

Hi, I'm somewhat new to writing this kind of stuff though I have been reading for a while and fantasizing for even longer. I published a few that you can see here as "cana-tied". I was just having some problems and I was wondering if anyone here could help or relate.

My big thing is I get an idea and before I have written anything I have a whole other world. The problem then is I don't have a story I have a universe, and I never know where I'm going with it so I always feel like there is more to say. Some of the ones I have started (but not published) are so difficult I can't even get to where I think a half sensible end could be. Does anyone else have a problem like this?

Maybe I am making something out of nothing but I never feel like I can get a conclusion like a lot of stories "conclude." But any thoughts?

Ranai Pahav
Tightly Hogtied

Unread post by Ranai Pahav »

One idea:Reverse the process and start at the end.Think up a good, interesting ending to a story. Write it down.Then invent the events leading up to it.If you want to make a short story, stick to this one plot strand only. If subplots should occur to you, don’t use them in this story. Keep them in mind for possible other texts, and stick to your one main plot which leads up to your ending.

pleasewrap
Hopelessly Suspended

Unread post by pleasewrap »